2017 Champions Celebrated At Gold Medal Night

Murdocca, Ferreyra Bas and Barnes Take Individual Honours At 2017 Gold Medal Night

Victoria's top individual football awards have been presented at FFV Gold Medal Night held at Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Avondale FC's Massimo Murdocca was a runaway winner of the men's PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria Gold Medal while Candela Ferreyra Bas claimed the women's Gold Medal.

Both are first-time winners of the award, with Murdocca recording an astonishing 15-vote margin and Ferreyra Bas winning by 10.

In PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria NPL 2, Dandenong Thunder's Brandon Barnes won his second straight Best and Fairest award, while also going back-to-back winning the golden boot and player's player of the year.

Murdocca, 33, who won the Hyundai A-League with Brisbane Roar, has played for Avondale since 2015. His 45 votes won the Gold Medal from Pascoe Vale's Davey van 't Schip (30), Melbourne Knights' Elvis Kamsoba (25), Oakleigh Cannons' Dusan Bosnjak (24) and 2016 winner Nick Hegarty (19).

Ferreyra Bas, 21, polled 39 votes to win from Calder United's Cindy Lay (29) while there was a tie for third between South Melbourne's Natalie Martineau and Geelong Galaxy United's Adriana Taranto on 24 each.

Bristolian Brandon Barnes, 24, polled 42 votes to win from Welsh duo Josh Knight (Northcote City) and Corey Thomas (Moreland City) both on 34 votes.

See more pictures from the night on Twitter using hashtag #GMN17

PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria

Gold Medal: Massimo Murdocca (Avondale FC)
Player's Player of the Year: Ken Athiu (Heidelberg United)
Bill Fleming Media Award: Davey van ‘t Schip (Pascoe Vale)
Rising Star: Luke Gallo (FC Bullen Lions)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Michael Weier (Hume City FC)
Coach of the Year: George Katsakis (Heidelberg United)
Golden Boot: Ken Athiu (Heidelberg United)
Goal of the Year: Jordan Templin (FC Bulleen Lions)
Referee of the Year: Chris Hope

PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria Women's

Gold Medal: Candela Ferreyra Bas (Southern United)
Player’s Player of the Year: Kyra Cooney-Cross (Senior NTC)
NPLW Media Player of the Year: Melina Ayres (South Melbourne)
Rising Star: Adriana Taranto (Geelong Galaxy United)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Emily Kenshole (Geelong Galaxy United)
Coach of the Year: Robert Giabardo (Southern United)
Golden Boot: Melina Ayres (South Melbourne)
Goal of the Year: Alana Jancevski (Senior NTC)
Referee of the Year: Danielle Anderson

PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria NPL 2

Best and Fairest: Brandon Barnes (Dandenong Thunder)
Player’s Player of the Year: Brandon Barnes (Dandenong Thunder)
Rising Star: Ali Eyigun (Melbourne City FC)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Andre Jannese (Moreland Zebras)
Coach of the Year: Zeljko Kuzman (Northcote City FC)
Golden Boot: Brandon Barnes

FFV Official Partners

  • Supaturf
  • Physiohealth
  • Team App
  • RMF

FFV Ball Licensees