Heidelberg United Set For Tassie Trip

2018 NPL National Finals Fixture Released

Heidelberg United will defend its NPL National Championship starting with an elimination final in Tasmania after Football Federation Australia (FFA) confirmed the fixture for all competing clubs recently.

The 2018 NPL Victoria premiers plate winners will face Devonport Strikers on Saturday September 8.

The remaining three Elimination Finals will be played the following weekend when Canberra FC (ACT) and Campbelltown City SC (SA) meet at Deakin Stadium (Saturday 15 September), Lions FC (QLD) go up against Edgeworth FC (NNSW) at Lions Stadium (Saturday 15 September) and Sydney Olympic FC (NSW) take on Perth SC (WA) at Lambert Park (Sunday 16 September)

The NPL Finals Series brings together the eight teams who finished top of their respective NPL standings at the end of their regular seasons to determine Australia’s best NPL side.

2018 marks the sixth edition of the NPL Finals Series, which was last year won by Heidelberg United FC. Sydney United 58 FC won the inaugural competition in 2013 and in 2016, while MetroStars SC from South Australia (2014) and Blacktown City FC from New South Wales (2015) have also been crowned Champions of the series in the past.

The winner of the NPL 2018 Finals Series will receive automatic entry into the FFA Cup 2019 Final Rounds, providing an added incentive for the eight clubs taking part.

Every match in the  NPL 2018 Finals Series will be streamed LIVE on www.nationalpremierleagues.com.au as well as via the official Hyundai A-League Facebook page (www.facebook.com/aleague).

The NPL 2018 Finals Series schedule is as follows:


National Premier Leagues 2018 Elimination Finals Venue Kick-Off (local) Kick-Off (AEST)
Match 1: Sunday, 16 September 2018 Sydney Olympic FC (NSW) vs Perth SC (WA) Lambert Park, Leichhardt, NSW 3:30pm 3:30pm
Match 2: Saturday, 15 September 2018 Canberra FC (ACT) vs Campbelltown City SC (SA) Deakin Stadium, Deakin, ACT 5:00pm 5:00pm
Match 3: Saturday, 8 September 2018 Devonport Strikers FC (TAS) vs Heidelberg United FC (VIC) Valley Road, Devonport, TAS 6:00pm 6:00pm
Match 4: Saturday, 15 September 2018 Lions FC (QLD) vs Edgeworth FC (NNSW) Lions Stadium, Richlands, QLD 7:30pm 7:30pm
National Premier Leagues 2018 Semi Finals
Match 5: 22/23 September 2018 Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 2 Host to be determined by points system
Match 6: 22/23 September 2018 * Winner of Match 3 vs Winner of Match 4 Host to be determined by points system*
National Premier Leagues 2018 Grand Final
Match 7: 29/30 September 2018 Winner of Match 5 vs Winner of Match 6 Host to be determined by points system

*Please note this is subject to change



To determine the host Member Federation clubs for the Semi Finals and Grand Final, the following points system will apply.

  • Win within normal time (i.e. 90 minutes) = 3 points
  • Win during extra time = 2 points
  • Win on penalties = 1 point
  • Goals scored by home team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 3 points
  • Goals scored by away team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 4 points
  • Goals conceded (excluding penalty shootouts) = -1 point
  • Yellow cards = -1 point; and
  • Red cards = -3 points

The host of the Grand Final will be determined by the club with the highest accumulation of points across the Elimination Finals and Semi Finals.

Note: In the event that Heidelberg United is successful in Match 3, they will progress to Match 6 and be deemed the away Club for this fixture regardless of the NPL Finals Series points system. FFA shall determine the match details for this fixture in its sole and absolute discretion.


FFV Official Partners

  • Supaturf
  • Physiohealth
  • Team App
  • RMF

FFV Ball Licensees