Youthful Victoria Squad To Defend Bass Strait Cup

Tasmania Visits The Veneto Club This Saturday

A youthful Victorian team will defend the Seasol Bass Strait Cup as FFV seeks to retain the annual trophy contested against Football Federation Tasmania.

A squad with an average age of 20.3 features players from seven of the PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria Women's clubs.

The Veneto Club will host Saturday's showpiece game, having also hosted the 2015 edition.

The majority of the Victoria squad are teenagers, with Calder United nominating Alycia Eicke and Sarah Lorca who played the majority of the season just finished in PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria Girls' U18.

Retained from last season's 5-0 Bass Strait Cup win away to Tasmania are Aneta Komijat, Lisa Fonua and Emma Robers.

Previous Victorian Bass Strait Cup representatives include Daniella Galluccio, Em Coppock and Elly Torre.

PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria Women's coach of the year Rob Giabardo will co-coach the team with Bill Mihaloudis. The duo spent the 2017 season at Southern United before being announced as Bayside United coaches last week, Mihaloudis to coach the seniors and Giabardo the U19 team.

Players were selected based on nominations by PlayStation 4 NPL Victoria clubs.

Tasmania won the inaugural Bass Strait Cup in 2013, with Victoria winning the following three meetings in 2015 and last year.

Seasol Bass Strait Cup

Football Federation Victoria v Football Federation Tasmania
3pm kickoff, Saturday October 14, 2017
David Barro Stadium, Veneto Club Bulleen
Live on FFV Radio in the Mixlr app &

Victoria Squad

Name 2017 NPLW Club
Aneta Komijat Geelong Galaxy United
Sarah Richardson Heidelberg United
Sarah Sumner Heidelberg United
Lujeyn Al-Huneidi Geelong Galaxy United
Christine Fonua Southern United
Emily Coppock FC Bulleen Lions
Marianna Anthony Alamein FC
Elly Torre Heidelberg United
Daniella Galluccio FC Bulleen Lions
Lisa Fonua Southern United
Emma Robers Calder United
Caitlin Greiser South Melbourne
Milla Jowett Southern United
Sarah Lorca Calder United
Savanna Anastasopoulos Southern United
Alycia Eicke Calder United

Past Meetings

2013: Tasmania 1 (Rani Cavarretta) Victoria 0 at KGV Park, Tasmania
2015: Victoria 4 (Taryne Boudreau, Sarah Jacobs, Natalie Martineau, Em Coppock) Tasmania 1 (Rani Cavarretta) at Veneto Club, Victoria
2016: Tasmania 0 Victoria 5 (Elaina Vatcky x2, Cindy Lay, Caitlin Pickett, Bonnie Barnes) at KGV Park, Tasmania

Tasmania Squad

Jessie Williams Belconnen United Blue Devils
Holly Ayton Taroona FC
Caitlin Roberts Olympia FC Warriors
Bethany Bygrave Launceston City FC
Inocent Michael Olympia FC Warriors
Adelyn Ayton Taroona FC
Georgia Burt Hobart Zebras FC
Lucy Johnson Olympia FC Warriors
Isabella Gee FC Bulleen Lions
Alyssa Bowden Hobart Zebras FC
Danielle Kannageisser Hobart Zebras FC
Kayla Mason Hobart Zebras FC
Olivia Edwards FC Bulleen Lions
Olivia Gardner Kingborough Lions United FC
Aimee Medwin South Melbourne FC
Caitlin Storay Launceston City FC

FFV Official Partners

  • Supaturf
  • Physiohealth
  • Team App
  • RMF

FFV Ball Licensees